Books and things

Book lovers are prone to getting lost in the story; engrossed in the characters, identifying with their issues, hating or supporting the protagonist; it’s like an emotional roller coaster that ends when you finish the book. When I am reading often forget where I am so trying to have a conversation or gain my attention would probably be met by a blank stare. Can’t you see that I’m reading? Points at book in my hand….. Most of the time a book is way better than small talk; it has a lot to do with the quality of the conversation than anything oh also, I’m shy go away 🙂 I mean that in the nicest way possible.

I know that there have been amazing developments in the technological world but nothing beats a good ol’ paperback. Yes I know can get it on kindle or download onto my Ipad but I prefer the feel of the book, actually holding it, turning the pages, putting a book mark and when I pick it up again I open THAT page and just flow back into the story *bliss*. I also understand the convenience of having a book on your phone or tab and reading it wherever you go but you could also just put a book in your bag or do you need that extra space for something important? It was on a lighter note guys don’t throw stones ok? “Just do you,be you and stay true boo as shameless maya would say.

Here’s an interesting fact, in the 1600s reading books was considered to be a luxury; like having caviar for breakfast or going to The Tribe Hotel for four o’clock tea luxury. These people were early pioneers working from dawn to dusk to earn a living, barely surviving on barren lands that they had claimed and sought to conquer or profit from. The only time they had to read was at night and who is going to waste candles on something that is not essential to their survival? The cost of books in itself was high so it began to be regarded as a thing for the rich; those with money to spare and spend. In those days books were also quite heavy so the process of transporting them across oceans diminished the chances of them making it and those that did were expensive because they were so few.

I honestly don’t think our tech-savvy generation can understand these struggles. For example in the Nairobi CBD we have what is colloquially referred to as “inama bookshop”. These are street vendors who sell books for as low as Ksh50 and all you have to do is literally bend down sift through until you find something you like and buy. Or for those who don’t fancy the second-hand experience there are book clubs in Nairobi and online platforms such as “HOOKED TO BOOKS” on Facebook that you can join, connect with other book lovers and swap books or upload for others to rad. You have no excuse for not reading my friend but if it really isn’t your thing gift a book to someone whose it is especially kids it’s a great thing to pass on to them. Biko Zulu agrees with me……

Leave a Reply

