He just….

He didn’t say I couldn’t write,

He just

Frowned every time he read my poems

He just

Asked me to tone it down,

He just

Told me to consider what people would think,

He just

Listened to them tell him it was about him,

He just

Made me feel guilty for having a gift,

He just

Creeped into my head and planted seeds of shame,

Watered the insecurity and passed the blame,

He just

Failed to see that this was about me,

A way to speak words that swam in my head,

chocked in my throat and tortured my heart

He just

Was not having it

So what’s a girl to do

But give up her pen and paper for love

He just, left

So I, bereft

Picked up where I left

 

Leave a Reply

